Do you claim to be the positive, spiritual, loving person?  Are you working so hard to convince people how they should act?

Why do we need to claim and convince?  Shouldn’t our actions be enough to let people know what we stand for and our work ethic.  By us saying these things but then walking around the office with a frown on your face don’t you think that sends more of a message than anything.

I just read a book called Tangible Kingdom.  In one of the Chapter Hugh Halter talks about Posture and how we are so concerned about what we say that we forget about our posture.  I know my posture isn’t always right.  I say I want to be loving and then judge others for what I am doing and they are not.  I think my way is the right way.

Jon Gordon, the author of the Energy Bus, which by the way is a great quick read. Had a great blog entry on our actions.  Here are some notes I had from his energy bus book:

  • Everything happens for a reason you can either choose to ignore it or ask what that reason is and try to learn from it.
  • Every problem has a gift for you in it.
  • A smile changes the way you feel, the way you think, and how you interact with others.
  • Rule #1 : You’re the driver of the bus
    • 1. My vision for my life (including my health) is.
    • 2. My vision for my work, career, job, and team is.
    • 3. My vision for my relationship and family is.
  • Every crisis offers an opportunity to grow stronger and wiser; to reach deep within and discover a better you that will create a better outcome.
  • What we think about we attract.  Focus on what you do want and not what you don’t want.
  • Events plus perception equals outcome.
  • Which Dog are you going to feed the positive one or the negative one?
  • It’s physically impossible to be stressed and thankful at the same moment.
  • When you go to bed at night think about the one great golf shot thing you did during the day.
  • Rule #2: Desire, Vision, and Focus Move your Bus in the right direction
  • Rule #3: Fuel your ride with positive energy
  • Rule #4: Invite People on your bus and share your vision for the road ahead.
  • Rule #5: Don’t waste your energy on those who don’t get on the bus.
  • Rule #6: Post a sign that says no energy vampires allowed on your bus.
    • Your positive energy and vision must be greater than anyone’s and everyone’s negativitiy.  Your certainty must be greater than everyone’s doubt.
    • Be Better than you were yesterday.
    • If you don’t have energy you can’t lead inspire or make a difference.
  • Rule #7: Enthusiasm Attracts more Passengers and Energizes them during the ride.
  • Rule #8: Love your passengers
  • Five Ways to Love your Passengers
    • 1. Make time for them: You can’t nurture relationships at your desk.  Be engaged in the present moment.  Don’t focus on ten other things focus your energy on them.
    • 2. Listen to Them
    • 3. Recognize Them: Personal birthday card with a hand-written note.
    • 4. Serve Them
    • 5. Bring out the best in them:

Rule #9: Drive with Purpose

So what steps are you going to take when it comes to letting your posture and actions speak louder than your words?

