Why is it that at the end of everyday I can’t remember what I did even though it seemed like a lot?  I worked and worked and worked and kept so busy doing things but I can’t even remember the important things I got accomplished.

Why when I get home and my wife asks about what happened at work does she all of the sudden seem disinterested?  It is because I hurried so much all day I forgot to enjoy the ride and let others enjoy it with me.  Instead of me noticing the little things about people and asking people how they are doing I kept plowing along with blinders on.

What should we do about this?

  1. Plan your days not your minutes:  Plan out the main things for each day but don’t task yourself to death.
  2. Invest in the people around you:  Don’t be selfish ask questions and just listen.
  3. SMILE:  I always forget this one but if you really do this it will make a huge difference.
  4. Step away from Technology: Get away from your computer, go talk to people, sit in silence, notice what is going on around you.
  5. The world does not revolve around you:  Get it, got it, good.  You are not the only one that matters.

I am going to leave you with this poem.  I thought it was great.  Take the time to read it.  The first time I just skimmed it but it is truly worth it.

SLOW DANCE
Have you ever watched kids
On a merry-go-round?
Or listened to the rain
Slapping on the ground?
Ever followed a butterfly’s erratic flight?
Or gazed at the sun into the fading night?
You better slow down.
Don’t dance so fast.
Time is short.
The music won’t last.
Do you run through each day
On the fly?
When you ask: How are you?
Do you hear the reply?
When the day is done,
do you lie in your bed
With the next hundred chores
Running through your head?
You better slow down.
Don’t dance so fast.
Time is short.
The music won’t last.
Ever told your child,
We’ll do it tomorrow?
And in your haste,
Not see his sorrow?
Ever lost touch,
Let a good friendship die
Cause you never had time
To call and say, “Hi”?
You better slow down.
Don’t dance too fast.
When you run so fast to get somewhere
You miss half the fun of getting there.
When you worry and hurry through your day,
It is like an unopened gift thrown away.
Life is not a race.
Do take it slower.
Hear the music.
Before the song is over.
~ David L. Weatherford

