Do any of you have systems of how you do things? Is everyday of your life arranged into a system?

I try to create systems in everything I do. My motto is “There is always a better way to do things.” I know, I know sometimes this can lead to “reinventing the wheel,” but how are we going to progress.

When I play a card game called pitch I invented the “system” hand where you can bid based on having one card and how many others. I try to figure out the best cards to lay at certain times based on odds. When potting annuals or perennial plants into bigger pots I have a system that has been tried and retried. I believe I have finally come up with the most effective and efficient way to do that.

Now as I venture more into the business side of work than the production I am looking to systematize everything I can. How and when to market. How to do job reviews. How to do interviews. There should be a better system I can create on my own or mold from another persons experiences.

One of the constant struggles I have is to create a perfect system to keep track of my things I need to get done. I tried the Covey Planner which was working great BUT I knew there had to be a better way. I am now trying remember the milk and it is working fabulous and saving a ton of time. Of course after a couple of months I will probably find something wrong with it or another system that is supposed to work better. The quote I love is by Oscar Wilde and kind of describes my mindset.

“Discontent is the first step in the progress of a man or nation.”

Are you content? Contentment is not bad in and of itself but to reach your potential try being discontent with the status quo.

