I know, I know what Michael Phelps did was not right.  But give the guy a break.  He had a lapse in judgment and screwed up.  Five years ago there would have been rumors of someone doing something like this, but it would have been talked about in a tabloid.  Today, what you do can be on you tube, my space, and posted all over the internet all in a matter of minutes from someone taking a picture with their cell phone.  Phelps is probably the hardest working most disciplined guy in the world.  All to have that forgotten in the “what have you done for me lately” culture that we live in.  That holds others to a higher standard than we do ourselves.  Just think of what his training regimen was.  The guy has accomplished more in his early twenties than 99% of people could ever dream of accomplishing in their lifetime.

It is so easy to judge others and for us to excuse some of the things we do on a daily basis.

This week I had hear this quote from a friend of mine:
“We judge others by their actions and we judge ourselves by our motives.”

I no way am I condoning what Phelps did.  Why do we as humans love to point out the flaws in others?  Phelps has been nearly flawless for 4 years.  But now we are ready to throw him under the bus because we hold a higher standard for him than we do ourselves?  Could we ever be disciplined enough to give it our all for 4 years straight knowing it all depended on 1 week for success or utter failure?  Most of us wouldn’t even try.  Should most of us be written about because we don’t push ourselves enough to even jump in the pool?  Go ahead make yourself feel better by bashing Phelps, but I am not going to.  I wish I had half the discipline he did and our country in general did also.

