“Merely to let your imagination run riot, to dream unrelated dreams, to indulge in graphic acrobatics and verbal gymnastics is NOT being creative. The creative person has harnessed his imagination. He has disciplined it so that every thought, every idea, every word he puts down, every line he draws, every light and shadow in every photograph he takes, makes more vivid, more believable, more persuasive the original theme or product advantage he has decided he must convey.”

                             – Bill Bernbach, Advertising Legend

I took this quote from Branding Strategy Insider by Derrick Daye.

I love this quote and how we have “Fake” creative people around us pegged as “Real.”  Anyone can come up with many different ideas and keep throwing them around.  The “Real” creative ones are the ones that can put their thoughts and ideas into action.  They can take an idea, refine it, and then implement it from start to finish.  There are not too many people I know who are truly creative.  There are many wanna-be’s who you would probably categorize as dreamers.  I know I am a recovering one of them.  I thought that if I just kept thinking of new ideas that was good enough and I was creative.  But until I started implementing them the creativity finally came to fruition.

Creativity is not as glorious as the word sounds.  It should actually be a less glamorous word because creativity is actually work.  And to leave you with a quote by Oscar Wilde:

“Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls, and looks like work.”

People have this unrealistic expectation of what creativity is and don’t want to or feel like putting the time in.  Are you going to be a “Real” creative, or just another “fake” creative like the rest of them.

