Recently I have heard the phrase many times “I am going into full time ministry.”  I don’t mean to be nitpicky about this phrase but it is one of those phrases that downplays what every other person does.

Does being in “full time ministry” or work having to do with the church make you that much better of a person?

I get worked up a little when I hear phrases like that because sometimes I take it the wrong way. 

Instead I have decided to use this phrase to challenge myself.  I don’t believe full time ministry has to do with just the Church.  We as Christian leaders need to being doing full time ministry in our jobs on a daily basis. 

We as business people come across a wider range of people that most people in “full time ministry” would ever come across.

I don’t mean to be negative with this but I brought this more as a challenge to myself.

Why does it bother me so much?  Probably because I do not treat my life as full time ministry right now and I know I should be. 

When people ask me what I do I want to use the phrase (or something like it) “I am in full time ministry.” 

I don’t need to be connected with a church or organization to be in full time ministry.  I should do it every single day.

