I have been listening to a few Nickelback songs lately and “If Today was Your Last Day” struck me.  It got me thinking about how we treat life in general.  The line that really got my attention was the following one:

“Each day’s a gift and not a given right.”

It really struck home with me and with our culture in general.  We think we deserve things or we are owed things because they are rightfully ours. 

If we treated each day as a gift how much differently would our days look?

I know mine would look differently starting in the morning.  I would pop right out of bed thanking God for giving me the gift of another day, the health to walk, providing everything I need, and a beautiful wife and daughter.  So many gifts that we have we take for granted. 

What would your life look like if you viewed each day like it was your last?

I know I would spend less time doing so called “important” things of this world and doing more things for others.

So start tomorrow viewing each day like it is your last day.  Or just try it for a day or a week and see what it does.

I’ll let you know how it goes for me.

