Have you every got home from work and couldn’t remember what you did all day?  You look back and feel like you didn’t accomplish anything at all?

This happened to me the other day so I decided to take control of my days.  I decided to write down everything I did for the exact amount of time.  It took quite a bit of extra time but it was well worth it.

This is what I learned from keeping track of what I did:

  1. I spend a lot of time talking to people and should not view this as wasting time.
  2. I realized that I waste a lot of time going off on little bunny trails instead of staying on one project until completion. 
  3. I realized what percentage of my time I spent on things throughout the day.
  4. I realized if I made a list before I started the day and prioritized it I would be a lot more productive.
  5. I wasted less time looking on the internet and wasting time doing other things.

Try it for a week.  Keep track of what you do for a week then calculate where you spend your time.  Once you figure out the numbers figure out where you should be spending your time and adjust what you do and how you do it.

As a leader you need to constantly be aware of where you are spending your time.

